Client Testimonials

June 24, 2019

Mr. Sheldon came highly recommended by JAGs from multiple branches of service and it is easy to see why.

He immediately reviewed my case and was open and honest about expectations. He seamlessly worked with my military defense council and emphasized the importance of teamwork from the beginning.

His knowledge of the law is phenomenal. He knows the law and is constantly researching prior cases and recommending strategies to best help the client and he is relentless at getting justice for his clients.

Not only is he amazing at practicing law, but he is also a great person. He was always available to answer any questions or address any concerns I had surrounding my case.

When you are in such a stressful, and honestly terrifying, situation in your life you don’t want to be concerned that your lawyer is subpar. You don’t have to worry about that with Mr. Sheldon and his team!

I cannot recommend him enough!

LT C

May 22, 2019

I am a Marine that was placed on TDRL in 2017 after a medical board decided I was medically unfit to serve due to an eventful deployment to Afghanistan where I was injured from multiple IED blasts. I was placed at 70% DOD and 100% VA disability upon the conclusion of my medical board but I was re-evaluated in December 2018 where my DOD rating was unjustifiably dropped from 70% to 10%, effectively causing my family to lose retirement benefits that we depend on. This decision from the DOD was made shortly after the VA decided that my conditions had not changed and that I still rated 100%.

I was given 15 days to accept the decision from the DOD or fight it and I was lost as to where to find someone to help. I found David Sheldon online and contacted him and immediately I felt hopeful that my family and I were going to be taken care of. In our first conversation he said, "so the USMC said you can’t perform your duties because of your conditions and a year later you are completely better, right?" this let me know this is his realm of expertise and that he understood my predicament. I decided to go with him because my family’s welfare was on the line and I needed someone that could fight for us. David never disappointed and really proved his level of commitment during the hearing where he absolutely controlled the room and got the results we wanted. I am forever grateful for the work he put in to make sure my family and I were taken care of.

Mr. Sheldon immediately evaluated my case, arranged for an expert evaluation, and prepared me and my case for success. I worried—did I make the right decision. The first time I met Mr. Sheldon he clearly knew my case, knew what we had to do, and then did it. When we went to the hearing, we were so prepared that during the hearing the Board adjourned and offered to stipulate to what we wanted—a total victory. I really don’t doubt that, but for hiring Mr. Sheldon, I would not be retired from the Marine Corps today. For that I am very grateful.

But Mr. Sheldon also offered something more—from my interactions with him, you know he really does care—he cared about me and I know he cares about the other service members who he represents. You get that and an attorney who knows what to do, how to do it, and will do it. Pretty remarkable.

SGT B.P.

May 20, 2019

After separating from the Navy in 2009 almost half a year later DFAS sent a demand letter stating I owed them almost $60,000 (and the interest just kept adding up as well)!! I thought it was truly a mistake, but unfortunately I was wrong, DFAS believed I owed the government this debt. After attempting to fight this battle on our own, my wife and I made one of the best decisions we could have ever made, we contacted the Law Offices of David Sheldon. David and I spoke at length and over the next few weeks we exchanged information and forms. From there on David spent about 9 years relentlessly fighting for us and our injustice! When the Board of Corrections of Naval Records denied our petition, he fought back with a reconsideration, when they denied that, David took it to Federal Court. When the Federal Judge remanded it back to the Board of Corrections David and his team drove it home and justice was restored!

M.M.

March 20, 2019

I listened to Ms. Mitchell's oral argument in my case. She sounded very professional and confident. I want to thank her so much for the time and effort she has put in to the briefs and oral argument. Ms. Mitchell really knocked it out the park! She and David are awesome! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for your case!

R.A.

January 16, 2019


Good afternoon, Sir
I just wanted to thank you and Tami. For all your hard work. I know Tami is one of the best in the business. I'm lucky to have your team, fighting for me.

R/S
R.A.

December 17, 2018

If your ability to take care of your family, your reputation, and your military career are at risk, then you need a lawyer with exceptional skill, as well as an extensive knowledge of the law in order to give you the best expert advice, represent you with tenacity, confidence, fearlessness, and skill. The aforementioned are the qualities that Mr. Sheldon has in abundance and they are the qualities that led me to select him above all others to represent me and be my advocate (in "my corner") when I found out that my nearly 20-year career and personal reputation was at, risk due to false allegations.
Over the course of a few weeks he rapidly assessed my situation and brought to bear his many years of experience to defend me and my family name. He is "fighter" that went to battle on my behalf with a level of expertise and ferocity that is only seen in the most experienced and dedicated lawyers. His deep and extensive knowledge of the military justice system, expert advice and persistence in leaving no false allegation unchallenged were the decisive factors in proving my innocence. I was also deeply impressed and appreciative of the collegial atmosphere and excellent working relationship that he developed with my military appointed counsel, as they both worked together to prove my innocence.
Thanks to Mr. Sheldon, my name is cleared and I have my life and career back. If you are a member of the military and find yourself in need of legal representation, then my advice to you is not to delay not even one minute and call Mr. Sheldon Immediately!!!

-CDR M

July 20, 2018

Today, I received the orders promoting me to 06/COL with a retroactive date of rank of 01 January 2013.. I wanted to say thanks for your service during this long ordeal. It is now over. Thanks again for everything.

S.F., Col, MC, USA

May 29, 2018

As a Public Health Service Officer serving the behavioral health needs in isolated frontier communities, I was understandably worried when an adverse privileging action was taken against me. Practicing in isolation, with agency antagonism, and without federal division support, left me vulnerable to personal injury and professional jeopardy. I retained Attorney David Sheldon who immediately acted to protect my interests. Responsive, thoughtful, and pragmatic, Mr. Sheldon (himself a prior Navy attorney and well versed in the uniformed service) was able to get the decision reversed and my position secured. I highly recommend him for any uniformed service member. It is money well spent!

CDR Michael R. Tilus

May 21, 2018

Thanks Mr Sheldon. Thanks Brooke Mask.

Thanks to all the people who worked for me and this day.

Thanks I can now believe it has happened the best email ever!

v/r

J.K. (A Navy Sailor who learned that the BCNR had ruled in his favor, granting him back pay and allowances and placing him retroactively on the Permanent Disability Retired List).

April 10, 2018

I was facing the possibility of the termination of my Navy career after 17 years' service due to an arrest. At the head of my team was Mr. David Sheldon who helped a board of inquiry come to the decision, not only to retain me in service, but that I was in fact not-guilty of the events that led to the arrest. My family and I are eternally grateful for the hard work put together by Mr. David Sheldon and my Coast Guard attorney that resulted in the removal of the allegations that threatened my Navy career.

CDR A

April 3, 2018

I cannot thank David and his staff enough for all the work they put into my case. It was truly a team effort. David fought for me in person at a Formal Medical Evaluation Board in TX and made sure we won. He made sure my 18+ years of service was not thrown away due to a medical issue. He came prepared and explained everything along the way. The expertise of him and his team is unmatched. I cannot thank them enough for giving me my career back and allowing me the chance to retire with full benefits on my terms, when I am ready and not just when one doctor says I should. David, Brooke and LeAnn were amazing from day one and never failed to keep me up to date on everything. I didn't have the pleasure of working with Tami at all, but I am sure she is just as great.
Thank you for everything you all did for me.

TSgt T.USAF (still proudly serving because of your team)

November 6, 2017

Mr. Sheldon,

Congrats to you and co-counsel. Clearly you earned your fee on this one...

V/R,
Lt Col T, Military Judge

November 28, 2016

Dear Mr. Sheldon,

I would like to thank you for all of the guidance and assistance you have provided me with thus far. It has truly made quite the difference and I am truly grateful for it.

I would like to wish you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving and I hope that all is well.

Thank you once again for your patience, time, and guidance.

ENS L

November 16, 2016

Good Morning All,

I believe I was so happy after the results were giving to me that I probably forgot to thank all of you for wonderfully taking care of my case. I really don't think this would not have been possible without your dedication and the professional relationship between the two of you. You gave me back 17.5 years of my life and I don't have any words to say how much i appreciate all you did for me and my family. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart.

V/r,
PO1 L.R.

Mr. Sheldon,

I want to thank you for a job well done. Although it's not over yet, I begin to see the light at the end of the tunnel. The Board of Corrections changed the disputed OER and called for a Special Selection Board to give me re-consideration for promotion to COL. Thanks a million.

Dr. S

July 29, 2015

Mr. Sheldon:

I just got done reading the filings. Again, I don't know if I could find the words to extend my appreciation of your expert work. Everything I find out about you and your firm makes me appreciate my incredible luck in hiring you. You have such a grasp on this case. To me it seems and impossible task, unless you lived it, and yet here you are with this ability to have grasped this to a level of living it.

I hope I get a chance, in the future, to have you by our side, in a publicity situation, someday. There are other's out there that truly need your help, some are forced to take deals because of their fear of prosecutor threats. I can just pray that fate will bring those in need of help to you. I hope a fund can be setup to help those unfortunate military personnel that can't afford the fees. I have not seen in my history an attorney so worthy of his fee.

Thank you for working with me to make it affordable to hire the best to represent my son!

Thanks again Mr. Sheldon!!!
Fred B. / Mark B. (my son)

July 2014—Michael J., LCDR, USN

"When your rights, well-being and military career are at stake, you need a seasoned lawyer to give you the best expert advice and represent you with confidence and skill ."

Those are the words that led me and my wife to David Sheldon's office when I found my 25-year career and personal reputation in jeopardy. Over the course of the next year I found that David is not just a seasoned legal professional, his expertise, skill and tenacity in the arena of military justice are unmatched. He is a true "fighter in the ring" that will go toe-to-toe on your behalf. His intimate knowledge of the military justice system, expert advice and persistence in leaving no stone unturned in my defense were not only critical in winning my acquittal, but the staunch and unyielding support both he and Danette offered were sometimes the only things that kept my wife and I from going off the deep end when things were looking their most bleak.

Ultimately, you can't put a price tag on your character. Thanks to David my name is cleared and I have my life and career back. If you are a member of the military and find yourself in need of legal representation, my advice is to call David Sheldon. Immediately.

May 16, 2014

After suffering through a Bad Faith Peer Review in the U.S. military over twelve years ago, it became difficult to obtain new medical licenses in several venues. When other attorneys advised me to abandon my efforts and predicted unavoidable negative outcomes, I contacted the Law Offices of David Sheldon. I am glad that I retained them.

Based upon their unique knowledge of the military legal system and Washington bureaucracy, Mr. Sheldon (and his associate, Brian Schenk) represented me tenaciously and successfully in achieving a recent professional goal. I doubt that any other law firm can match the experience or professional competency of Mr. Sheldon and his associate(s), and I recommend them highly to others.

Dr. J.

May 14, 2014

David,
Just wanted to let you know that because of your (and your team) efforts I received my Associate Degree last night graduating with High Honors (3.8/4). I finished college in December and their once a year graduation ceremony was yesterday. My wife and father watched as their loved one strode across the stage and picked up a miracle. My mother watched from Heaven.

I started university in January and finished on the Dean's List (3.875/4). All these accomplishments started on April 6, 2011. I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your hard work and encouragement to "Tell the Truth". I wish there was more that could be given than a simple "Thank you", but it is all this former Marine turned college graduate can think of to give to you. Thank you, David.

Take care,
MJH

April 23, 2014

I can't thank Attorney Sheldon enough for his work on my case in obtaining my security clearance. I was facing an administrative discharge board due to the security issue. He was able to get another review of the facts and . . . I was granted a clearance.

Now all those sleepless nights, the worries, and stress are gone. Again THANK YOU from my wife and 3 daughters.

SSgt B.

December 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

I felt this weekend went very well for me. I arrived early, was in compliance with uniform and appearance. I met my new shop chief and he welcomed me back. A few old timers welcomed me back. I felt good about that...

I did see my commander as he was entering the hanger for the party. He did say "welcome back B.".. I did leave after the Christmas party feeling better than I did 27 months ago.

I owe that to you and your team for making it possible. My words of thanks cannot express this enough. I'm grateful to have had the chance to put the uniform back on and return. Again this is due to your efforts. Thank you...

Many many thanks.

SSgt Lawrence B.

November 4, 2013

I'm sincerely grateful for all that you've done for me with the C.G.

Thank You.

V. C. O.

November

Once again, thank you all for such an outstanding effort. It is deeply appreciated--can't wait to see my son tonight!

V/R,

R. A.

9/23/13

Dear Mr. Sheldon,

We received the case of documents and the letter with [the] check [$1,000.00] that you returned to our father (and at your cost). We regret to inform you that our father passed on April 26th. He went very suddenly after a busy day of doing things important to him. Therefore, he did not know the outcome of his request to you. We wanted you to know this and to provide you with a story that we hope will make you feel good about your efforts.

When our father told us he found a lawyer on the internet to try and "right his wrong" done to him and that he sent $1000 for it, we were very upset with him. There have been several instances where dad believed in the integrity of others and was hurt because of it. We didn't want to see that happen once again. It was especially important this time because we didn't want him to feel like a 'silly old man.'

We wanted you to know that he said you were a "good man" because you took a little while to cash the check. While our father did not have the confirmation that that was true, we wanted you to know that you confirmed this to his daughters. We believe this would have been even more important to him.

We thank you for being a man of integrity. We especially thank you for recognizing his importance to our country.

With our most sincere gratitude,

Don H. 's Daughters

9/25/13

Think I have a new appreciation of a lawyer's rendition of being "in the arena." Would also argue that arena is one of the toughest.
After nearly a week to mull over what we experienced, I keep returning to the same conclusion: We had a worthy warrior who did an excellent job making the key points while handling a continuous barrage of tough questions.
Whatever the outcome, I know that we've been blessed with determined and able legal assistance. Whatever the outcome, I will be forever grateful for the Sheldon law firm's first class efforts.
Respectfully

General Terry S.

PS: Beat Navy...

3/5/13

Mr. Sheldon just want to say thank you for everything you did for me in my case at Marine Barracks Washington and I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that I didn't rely solely on my military defense attorney with my case. Thank you very much!

Kurtis T.

12/12

"I know it has been a yr or so. As you and I know life happens...I just wanted you to know, God uses you in a special way. I call you my angel. My son is doing well, he has a great job, he now has a daughter. He now has a life and is not serving life because of you...... Thank you again, be blessed."

Karen D.

10-05-2012

David

Good evening, I've reviewed the disc and it explains everything. I know your office has worked very hard for me and my family and I just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. There are so many people, especially soldiers out there that are so afraid to speak out against injustice due to the rank structure, and power struggle, but I thank GOD that your Firm was there for me.

L. Sanders

08-25-2011

David

Thank you very much. You have done a great Job for us, excellent, we are very happy, you have made a difference in Frankie's life. Thanks again, will be in touch.

The C. Family

05-27-2011

David,

I have no idea what this victory means to you and your staff, it means the absolute world to my family and me. We are a close knit family and it devastated us when I was court-martialed. This victory helps greatly in the healing process.

Once again, David, thank you so much for all your efforts. Truth and perseverance prevailed. God bless you, your family and your staff.

M.H.

06-01-07

David,

I just wanted to say thank you for your tremendous job in my case. Your expertise, skill & experience was the catalyst that destroyed the government's perverse prosecution against me. I appreciate your uncompromising advocacy on my behalf.

w/admiration

LT N.P.

December 17, 2005

David,

I just read the appeal package and regardless of the outcome, I think you did a great job. I also want to take this time to thank you for your help in this matter. We are regular folks, but we both worked very hard for our careers. We lived and breathed the Air Force, so when all of this first came up, it was very tough to deal with until I spoke with you. You once told me to stop beating myself up about this because good people sometimes make stupid mistakes, but that does not make them bad people. You were right.

Best Regards,

L.V.

June 7, 2007

Sir,

I finally starting to let myself relax a little now that it is finally starting to set it…..Anyway, I'm back safe and sound in Gulfport and I've already been preaching your praises to all my co-workers.

Thanks again sir.

LTJG J.B.

12-20-1008

David

There are not enough words to say to express my gratitude for the hard work you and your staff have done for my son and myself. You've been a life line to me over the phone. You have no idea the amount of times you've calmed me down. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

K.D.

April 3, 2005,

Dear Attorney Sheldon:

Thank you for your time, listening, concern and legal action to help me obtain the medical care I require. I placed my trust in God and he lead me to your firm. I am most grateful for your help and legal talent.

P.B.

04-04

David,

You give so unselfishly, so generous, so important and special to me. I cant count the ways in which you touch my life with your beautiful spirit. I am very blessed that you are a part of my life. You will never know the depth of my gratitude. Thank you.

Sincerely,

L.O.

Dear Mr. Sheldon:
This is long overdue. I still cannot thank you enough for all you did for me during my "ordeal" at NAF Washington. I have stayed in the Navy long enough to retire and three weeks ago I was selected for advancement, I owe it all to you. Best wishes,

J.B.

April 5, 2007

Hi David,

Last night was the first night I got to spend with my son—it was great. I sure hate that I did not get to see you. I wanted to thank you personally for all the work you have done for my family I thank god for all that you have done.

Sincerely,

K.D.

December 30, 2004

Dear David,

It has been much more than four years since we first met you in Richmond, when our son's future was frighteningly uncertain. In the time since, you have been a source of support and comfort to all of us.

For my part, this case has not be considered "closed," without the certain knowledge that you know how much your skills and support have meant to me and my family. With fond appreciation, I wish you and your family a Very Happy New Year.

M.F.

April 30, 2007

Mr. Sheldon,

I just wanted to let you know that I finally graduated last Friday. I even made it as a Distinguished Graduate. I owe you so much and I so much wanted to tell you how appreciative I am of your efforts on my behalf.

J.H.